Is it a good time to get started (Maricopa County, Arizona)?

A few weeks ago my parents sold one of their homes and the signing agent that showed up at 6pm said ours was the 6th signing he’d done that day and still had another one after us. This prompted me to look into being a signing agent as part time income with the plan to go full time. The RE market is very hot here, but when I use the “find a notary” feature on this message board, it doesn’t look like too many people are getting signings. Lots of ‘0’ for the 3mo and 12mo fields. Are these self reported, and is it possible people just aren’t saying how many they are actually doing? Is the problem that the signing agent market is flooded?

I’ve already sent in my notary application, but I don’t want to go down the signing agent path if I can’t get to 3+ (~$200 worth) signings a day within a month or so. I’d appreciate any info anyone would be willing to provide.

I have been a signing agent in San Antonio, TX for 13 years and I am extremely busy, but if you look here on Notary Cafe though you wouldn’t see it because most of my business comes directly from title companies and a builder that don’t use Notary Cafe to find me. And, you could ask another signing agent in my area and they could tell you that business was super slow because THEY weren’t being sought after for work.