Location Time and Rate of pay

75.00? I’m fairly new to traveling a distance for signings. So can anyone give me an idea of whats a fair RATE OF PAY.
Ex: I was offered 75.00 for a debt consolidation and must read presentation. The location is 25 to 30 mins there and 45 mins or so back due to work traffic. total travel time 1.5 hr plus presentation and then signatures about 1.5hrs additional.
Please help

1 Like

Well for myself, If I have to travel more than 30 min than my price goes up to $125.00 if I travel for more than an hour its $200, but you charge what you think is best for you. $75 the signing has to be within 10 miles and no more than 100 pages to print. Hope that helps.

6 Likes

If you’re fairly new, take it for the experience. As you develop more experience your first month you can adjust your rates accordingly later. Or, you can always counter offer and see if they’ll accept on their end. I usually counter-offer, if it’s a busy week I’ll counter higher, if it’s a slower week and the signings haven’t been as consistent, I’ll counter lower ($20-$25) and I’ll get it 50% of the time. Hope that helps. Good luck, you’ll do fine.

3 Likes

A word of caution. Google notaries and debt consolidations. They are ‘using you’. And not as a notary. Wait for a real refi, buyer or seller package. Don’t let them take advantage of you to read a script to some unsuspecting person that thinks he is getting a deal by reducing his debts. They are NOT all on the up and up. It is a very gray area, savy notaries stay away from these types of signings. You don’t notarize anything, you read a script, the signer sits there rolling their eyes, and they ask questions that you can’t answer because you are NOT allowed to. Then you get the lawyer on the phone and he convinces then it’s a good deal, which it’s not. Move up and on. You will get real signings, just keep signing up with as many services as you can!

3 Likes