Low Ball Fees, why so many?

Hello,
I am a newbie in AZ. So far I have received 3 offers all low ballers. $60, $80 and actually the other asked me. I gave them $175 because they wanted me to print over 200 pages, fax back and travel quite far. They turned me down very quick. I am frustrated. Signing up with all 4 and 5 star companies but so far none have called. Who can afford to work for $60-$80 dollars?? It doesn’t make any sense.

1 Like

Well, interest rates are higher or no lower than what a borrower already has, so no benefit to a refi…meaning business is very slow. LOTS of both experienced & newb notaries out there looking for work; some more desperate or ignorant than others. With the advent of ‘platforms’, it’s not that time-consuming or costly for hiring party to just keep shopping/spamming via text or e-mail to multiple notaries until they find a bargain-bin notary.

2 Likes

Thanks,for,the,input. I guess these folks have no business sense, or perhaps access to free paper and someone else’s car and gas. They are spinning their wheels. Still waiting for my first signing but I will not become known as the one to call cause I’m cheap. I have a good day job, I can wait for the right one.

Unfortunately, other notaries in your area who came before you are the ones taking these fees. No one pays $175 in my area which is Salem, OR. They pay twice that in California, but not here.

Fees are low because people accept them.
In my opinion you can’t be profitable working only with signing services. You have to get work directly from title companies and lenders and get paid the full fee that they would normally pay the signing service.

2 Likes

Generally what is the normal fee direct from the lenders? I realize it can differ.

1 Like