New Notary Help

I have been a Mobile Notary Signing Agent for about 3 months. Most of my signings have been for Refinance Loans. It is taking me anywhere from 1 hour to 1.5 hours to complete them and I’m wondering if there is a way to cut the time down. I’ve listened and read information from others in the business, and most seem to be able to complete the signings in about 45 minutes. Most of the borrowers want to read some or all of their docs or they have questions, and want to speak to the lender during the signing. I would appreciate any suggestions to cut my signing time unless of course this is a reasonable amount of time.

I always tell the signers to block out 1 hour. Sometimes things take longer some less. I never rush the deal. Since the new C D things move along more quickly. If the signer is a “first time” refi, they want reassurance and will review the doc’s more closely, if the signer has done this before, all they check is the total, rate and payments. Enjoy, you will meet some really great folks.

1 Like

When you are a newbie it is not a bad thing to take more time with the signings that after you get more experience. However there are things you can do to speed it up and what bothered me is that you are spending a lot of time on the phone with the loan officers. You need to get to know the documents so you are able to answer the most basic questions that borrowers have. It is NOT illegal to point out to the signers what is written in black and white in front of them. Most people just do not know where to look for the information they are seeking so that becomes your job.

It sounds to me like you may need some comprehensive training which will immediately improve your skills and performance. Do your homework and find the most suitable training courses for you. In the long run it will save you a lot of time and time is money.

3 Likes