Scan backs and PDF's

I’d like to get some suggestions from you kind folks about scan backs.
I have been doing them for a couple years and I don’t even own a fax machine anymore because scanning is so much simpler and cheaper, and way less time consuming. But I have a couple of escrow companies that are insisting that I use PDF format when I scan back.
I don’t know how to convert a document to a PDF. So that’s my first question, how does one do that? The drop down on my options for the scan does not list a PDF.
My second question is are there any better techniques out there that I would like to take advantage of instead of just simply scanning and adding them to an email which is what I’ve been doing?
Thanks!

You might try this http://download.cnet.com/Free-Scan-to-PDF/3000-18497_4-75936382.html

1 Like

You can also try this:
http://www.dopdf.com/download.php

1 Like

Adobe has a free site that I use to convert to PDF. I use it for everything that needs a PDF file.

1 Like

I use nitro pdf. It will scan your documents and save in pdf format. It will also allow you to add password encryption to allow the recipient to open your pdf with a password. I think it is a feather in your cap to offer security to your customer when you do this. I send an email to them with the password alerting them that the document is coming. I will then send the document via email with a note that the pdf can only be opened with the password previously sent. It is a little extra thing and it takes little time to do it

6 Likes

If you have an all in one printer/fax/scanner, you can default the scans to .pdf format.

10 Likes

My scanner permits me to pick file type (PDF,jpg) that I scan documents in.

3 Likes