Sticking together...(or falling apart)

I believe the reason why we are seeing so many low rates coming in from these signing agencies is because Notaries are accepting them.

I’ve heard other notaries complain about it, but I’m seeing it first hand now as a newbie myself.

Assignments for $35.00 & $40.00 is not worth the trip in my estimation. Even if you’re not printing the documents, I’ve had instances where the Gas to get to the assignment cost $10.00, and the tolls it cost we’re well over $20.00 for a round trip. Other than that, it cost almost 2 hours of travel time between, driving to the assignment, signing the documents and travelling back. You could make more money per/hour working at a fast food restaurant.

Meanwhile the signing agencies do little more than funnel the work your way and collect $150 - $200 from the title companies.

Am I the only one that thinks we need to stick together? If notaries accept signings for these low rates, they not only do themselves a disservice they pull down the whole system of Notary Signing Agents being able to make a living. This is not a side gig for everybody. Comments?

4 Likes