Quickly Estimating whether an assignment is worth taking

Hi. I’ve been a notary signing agent for a little over a year. At first, I was happy to drive all over the Denver Metro Area, Colorado Springs, Eastern Colorado (out on the plains), NoCO (Northern Colorado) all the way to the Wyoming border. I needed experience; also beautiful country every way I went. I lived in Aurora, CO (southeast of Denver.) In March, I moved to NoCO (Windsor, CO). I receive less assignment opportunities now, and a fair amount of jobs come from a distance. (I’ve updated my profiles to say that I service Weld, Larimer, and Boulder counties.)

To get to the question…when a text comes in with a job, how can I quickly estimate if I will actually make money if I accept the job? Yesterday a job came in for an address 35 mi. away. It would take 45 minutes to get there. The fee offered was $85. It was a standard refi. I countered asking for $95 (politely) but ultimately did not get the job.

My thinking was 70 mi. RT. With the IRS deduction for travel for work at $ .58/mi., a quick estimate of of $.60 x 70 = $42.00 (a couple $ high for rounding up), docs my guesstimate was 128 pages (2 sets of 128). The best I can figure for my printers, ink, paper… is $.06/page = $ 15.36. So adding mileage to resources, I am at $57.36. If I accept the $85 offer, I am left with approx. $27 to account for my time which I estimate to be around 3 hours (prep/printing, travel, closing).

What is your rule of thumb in figuring out if an assignment will earn you $?
Are my estimations too high? I’d appreciate all your thoughts, processes, and feedback on my process.

(I am still learning which jobs are within 30 minutes of home and destinations that are further away.) I accepted an assignment in Ft. Collins shortly after I moved here thinking it would be a hop, skip, and a jump to get there (20 min tops). Yeah, 45 min like the Longmont job. I now quickly google map the address to get an idea how far away the job is.