1st year. How do I get 1099's from all my partners?

This is my first year full time. I have had to extend my taxes because I am not sure how to get my tax forms (1099’s) from all the different signing companies. Anyone have a good solution? I have tracked everything in a spreadsheet, but honestly, I am not exactly sure how to get all the info, and who has paid me before the end of last year. I would appreciate your help, and no making fun of the newbie dork…oh okay, go ahead and make fun.

2 Likes

You should be keeping good records on when you bill, how much and when you’re paid - so end of year you can file using your own numbers and not rely on 1099s - not all will send you one.

Not going to make fun - but one of the mandatory things in this business, besides laser printer, toner, business cards, car and cell phone - is keeping good financial records - date of signing, amount, date paid (along with how much allocated to notary fees and how much to “other” fees).

Good luck

2 Likes

Adding…they don’t have to send a 1099 unless the amount they paid you in a year is $600.
Some will send it for any amount. Keep the 1099s, but use your own records.

4 Likes

I kept pretty good records-I might be off by a couple hundred dollars. But I was surprised that of the 50 or so companies that I worked with, I got 3 1099’s. Not knowing any different, I thought I would get more than that. I will just use my records.

2 Likes

get notary gadget, its not expensive but easy to keep accurate records of notarization and tax info

5 Likes

Companies do not need to send you a 1099 unless you made over $600 from them. Then again, some will send you a 1099 for $1.00! So whatever you believe you made, add up all the 1099’s and subtract from your gross receipts…then that amount becomes cash/checks you have received which won’t include those 1099’s. Hope that helps.

3 Likes