Accepted a "no scanbacks required" signing. Now SS asking for scans after I already FedEx'ed docs

Hi All,

I’m a newer signing agent so excuse the rookie question.

This past Friday, I accepted an assignment for a HELOC from a SS. It specifically states “no scanbacks required.” After I finished the signing at 6PM on a Friday, I triple checked the docs for errors then sent the documents away via FedEx since there was a FedEx store just a block away.

Fast forward to today, Sunday. I get a sudden message from the SS to send scans ASAP. Of course I do NOT have the documents since I’ve already shipped them!

How do I handle this the correct way? I do not wanna get dinged for following directions. I checked the status of the docs and they will arrive tomorrow morning before 10AM. Again, I do not have the scanbacks since the instructions noted that I do not have to do them. I also took a screenshot of the “no scanbacks required” page just in case.

Thank you in advance!

3 Likes

Just tell the truth. If order was emailed to you, forward email to person requesting scanbacks showing stated “no scan backs”. Just use common sense.

9 Likes

Yep…what Alice said…show them the “no scanbacks required” and tell them you shipped docs immediately and they will have them by 10am Monday morning.

Sorry…not sorry…you followed your instructions.

5 Likes

You tell them that the order tried not request scans, it specifically said no scans. Be sure to point that out to them in the confirmation they sent you.

2 Likes

Thank you all for putting my mind at ease. I’m new, so a bit paranoid about getting things right. I’d hate for a signing service to give me a bad review on Signing Order for a mistake on their own part.

3 Likes

There’s this fear that I think only notaries have and that is the fear of making a mistake and also getting dinged by a company.