Affidavit of Heirship for a vehicle

Hello,

I am still fairly new to the notary business with about 6 signings total under my belt. With that being said, just yesterday I was called to notarize two affidavits of heirship for a vehicle. It was for 4 siblings. Their mom had just past and three of the siblings were relinquishing their ownership of the vehicle to one of the siblings.

I went ahead and had one sibling sign one affidavit and the other three siblings sign the other. I notarized and signed both affidavits. I also (of course) identified all parties by proper identification. I only took down the single sibling as a signer in my book. I know I did something not completely right, I just don’t know what.

Thank you for any tips or advice!

My initial thoughts:

1. Where are you located?

2. You said 4 siblings - 3 were relinquishing their rights to ownership of the vehicle - if 3 were giving up their right to the vehicle, why did you have all four sign?

3. Why did you not have all signers entered into your journal?

1 Like
  1. This is in Texas.

2. One signer signed one affidavit (the person taking possession of the vehicle) and the other siblings sign the other affidavit…

3. I figured since he was the “signer” only his info was needed in my book.

Thank you again for the tips.

1 Like

You said you had 4 signers…then you say “since he was the “signer”…”

Since all signed an affidavit, all signers’ info should have been in your journal with them signing.

1 Like

Thank you for the response.

As far as affidavit of heirship, is that usually done using only one affidavit form? They told me they had too forms because all 4 siblings wouldn’t fit on one.