Deed in Lieu

Newbie here. I was wondering if a Deed in Lieu is a legal signing. I remember reading one of the forums about there being illegal signings and I cannot recall what they were. Also they stated fee was $65. Its local to me but dont wanna take low ball fees and ruin it for everyone.

Yes it’s legal - it’s a conveyance of the property back to the lender to avoid prolonged foreclosure and legal proceedings and a foreclosure ding on their credit report - which is probably trashed as it is from late payment/no payment history.

Just make sure to confirm whether or not witnesses are required in your state/by this hiring party and make sure signers can provide them.

Good luck

3 Likes

And be sure you’ll be paid if it turns into a no-sign…

1 Like

Was it a title company order? If you are notarizing a document from a title company or a lender that is ok, but if an individual calls and asks you to notarize a document, be careful it could be a scam. Take a picture of their ID’s, log and fingerprint them in your Notary Journal, follow all notarial rules.

Also, regarding your fee payment, if you are notarizing only one page for $65, that is great! Being paid $65 dollars for one minutes worth of work is GRAVY!!

All payments to Notaries are not written in stone. You have the option to take or turndown any notary assignment that come to you. If you are worried about accepting a lowball fee, then this should not be the reason for being a notary. If it is, you have chosen the wrong profession.

Please Note: Texas prohibits recording biometric information; finger prints, DL numbers, ID numbers, Date of Birth, the serial number of any government issued ID, Photographing federal IDs, etc.

I’ve had outside of Texas Title Companies raise hell when I provided a copy of the Notary page for one of their transactions that did have biometric data recorded and was in dispute or headed to court.

1 Like