E-Check Driving Me Crazy

Hello All,

I am still fairly new to the notary field. Just recently, I performed a GNS for a client and was sent an e-check for payment via my email.

I followed the directions for deposit by endorsing the back of check and then submitting via my bank’s mobile app. When that didn’t work, I went ahead and took the check physically to my bank. I bank with Navy Fed and they told me I would have to request a different type of check as they no longer endorse e-checks.

Any advice is tremendously appreciated!

Hi Andrew,
Since I’ve been in business (2009) no one has given me an e-check, although I did get one bad check in all those years. I simply asked them to replace it and they did (along with any fees). I suggest you do the same with your client. Let them know your bank is not accepting their payment and you need another type (cash, physical checks and paypal are what I accept).
Also, I’m not sure what GNS means? (general notary service maybe?) If so, and this was a direct client, you should have received payment at the appointment. I let clients know up front it will be cash or check and I have never had a problem.
Hope this helps and good luck!

1 Like