Embosser: Do I use golden seals or an inker?

I’m a Notary Public in the State of Texas. I am fully aware embosser are not required and that most notaries don’t use them, at least not anymore. However, I still choose to emboss documents for my elderly signers because it’s something most of them are familiar with, I like the formality it adds to important documents, and it’s always nice to stand out in our industry.

I have been using these golden seals by Avery to finalize these notarizations, but I’m unsure if I should be using those, or an inker such as this one by Shiny.

The Texas SOS is not specific, but states that the notarial seal “must be affixed by a seal press or stamp that embosses or prints a seal that legibly reproduces the required elements of the seal under photographic methods”, so I’m unclear if it must be inked or if I should continue using the golden seals.

I’m not a lawyer, so I’m just giving my personal thoughts. When I see “photographic” in notary laws, rules, and handbooks, I think of the modern meaning of photography, which means a wide variety of devices that sense the light coming from an object to create an image of that object. It would include film cameras, digital cameras, scanners, microfilm, etc.

The law can’t mean that every photographic method can reproduce the seal impression; there’s no way a cheap film camera like we used in the 1960’s is going to take a legible picture of any seal because you can’t focus close enough. If the requirement means it can be reproduced by at least one photographic method, then sure it can, but it might require a fancy camera and careful lighting setup.

If it means it must be reproducible by the typical scanners used in offices and county clerk’s offices, that’s harder to say. If that’s what it means, I’d say an inked stamper would be safer. Would it be allowable to use both the stamper and the gold foil with embosser? I don’t know.