Ethical Question...I think

Hello All,

I had my first signing with a signing service on August 1, 2022 and even though the pay was very low, I took them because I was a newbie. I noticed that the signings from this company are all from the same title company but I’ve since completed 27 signings.

As I learned in the LLS system, it’s not ethical to solicit from the title company that uses the signing service but I’ve requested an increase and they only went up $10.

My question is, the signings have all come through one escrow officer however there are several officers in the company. Would it still be unethical to market directly to those other officers to get more pay?

Thank you in advance!

im curious how much is the pay?

I’m embarrassed to say it’s $30. The documents are typically 13-14 pages and I just started so I didn’t care in the beginning but now…

Is that a loan modification or something else?

2 Likes

I appreciate your honesty. so will give you some pointers. You won’t like this, but, you put yourself in the bargain bin (I know, I know–experience/foot in the door) and YOU have to get yourself out of it by saying NO TO LOW. They like you cuz of your way too little fee, so now that more than your foot (27 signings) is in the door, it’s time to act like a business owner & stop losing money by NEGOTIATINGl
Kick it up to at least $60,(FWIW-$100 is your goal on these) and keep increasing it by $10 with EVERY call until it’s profitable (actually…get more to make up for the big loss you’ve already suffered). And find better co’s to work with. As to trying to go direct, tread carefully. The TC may very well have a contract with this cheap SS that THEY can’t/won’t circumvent…cuz your fee is too low and very profitable FOR THEM.

15 Likes

Thank you so much for this detailed answer. I agree as I have already kicked it up $10 and wanted to keep the steady stream of signings so I waited a while before asking.