How far would you go for a loan signing appointment?

Hello,

I am a new loan signing agent. I have been a notary public for over 2 years now.
I would like to expand my business to add loan signing appointments.

I live in Hollister Ca. Which is about an hr away from San Jose, the heart of silicon valley. I figured i would cover my county, Santa Clara county, and Monterey county. San Benito county (where hollister is located) is in the middle of these two counties. With your experience, do you think I am considering covering too much of an area? or too little? How far is too far for you to cover a signing?

Thank you for your help in advance!

Angelina

This is totally your decision. Just be SURE to figure your travel time & mileage into the fee for each county you intend to cover. Whether or not you’ll get jobs in every county really does depend upon how many notaries are already servicing your more distant counties as hiring party will always go with cheapest notary available. The driving does get old and it’s usually easier to take 2 close ones rather than 1 distant one.

3 Likes

well I live in Maui so I cannot go too far but you wouldn’t believe how much driving I do About 100 miles a day. Do as far as is reasonable By that I mean you don’t want to take up your whole day driving to one appointment You want to make time for other appointments as well. I do go farther and usually charge a bit more but use your instincts. If you think you will be irritated by the distance don’t do it. Remember you are your own boss in this. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I personally do not like to drive father than an hour in one direction(includes traffic). I live in a densely populated area and traffic can be brutal. Another notary I know, bundles the towns in a county. He’ll go out 3 counties over and spend a day doing 3-6 appointments, all within 30 minutes of each other. And drive back when he is done.