How to get knowledgeable?

Hey gang!

Total newbie here. I have my notary commission and NNA signing agent background screen completed. I have signed up for a few signing companies but I am still nervous about my lack of knowledge about the process and document terminology.

How did you more experienced signing agents learn? Do clients ask alot of questions?
How did you become familiar with the documents and process?

Hi Chad

I for one was a closing paralegal in CT for 25 years before launching my signing career here in Florida.

First off, you don’t say where you’re from, so where are you located? Are you allowed to do loan signings in your state? Many states are attorney-only and notaries cannot conduct real estate loan signings without an attorney involved.

If you’re in a state that allows it, you need to get some training if you have no idea what a loan package looks like (which is what this sounds like) - do NOT try to mess with peoples’ financial transactions until (a) you have your notary laws down cold, and (b) you’ve gone through a good, comprehensive signing course to get you familiar with the process. Notary2Pro is a good one - they provide good training, post-grad support, AND a list of companies who hire their grads.

Do not cheap out on the training - you have to spend money to make money and good training is not cheap; also, do not fall for those programs that promise you a 6-figure income in your first year - they rarely if ever pan out that way. It’s all location-driven.

1 Like

Hey Linda, also thanks for the warning regarding six figure systems. I think I know who youre referring to.

Hi Linda,

I am in Los Angeles, CA. I believe I am allowed to do loan signings here.

I am looking into the Notary2Pro courses. I definitely want to learn about handling the documents during a signing and how to explain things to borrowers.

How long should it take to become familiar with the loan documents?