Ink color on documents

What color of ink do most signers use when notarizing? I was at a signing the other day and I had a lady insist on using her blue pen to sign her name. I notarized in black ink not thinking. I am new to the business and wonder if I made a huge mistake. I have searched high and low about this and its nowhere to be found. Is it taboo?
I guess the title company was ok with its because I never heard anything back.

You should be fine. The signing, title and mortgage companies want either black or blue but it’s always best to ask which they prefer. If you are told either make sure the entire document is in the same color. Your stamp should be in black regardless. Hope this helps

2 Likes

I use blue as default, because most companies ask for it specifically, because black can look like a copy. Have a couple that due request black specifically. Some don’t care either way.

The color of your notary stamp is state regulated so be sure to check your state’s requirements.

The first things to check are the notary requirements for your state. There is often a requirement on the color of your seal. It’s rare, but there might be a requirement on the color of your seal. The next thing to check is any color requirement from the offices in your state where the deed and/or mortgage are recorded. Also be aware that the property might be in another state. In that case, first follow any requirements in your state’s notary laws and rules, and then any request made by the title company or lender.

1 Like

I also default to blue because copy machines in offices are typically black and white and they can tell the difference between the original and the copy. In the old days it was always black and now it’s typically blue but the “Lenders Instructions” will either tell you to use black or blue or they won’t say anything about pen color. Just never let them sign in any other color, like green, lol.

1 Like