Is having signing agent business on the side in addition to my full time job as a paralegal a conflict of interest?

I work full time as a paralegal in the trusts and estates field. I notarize documents at my place of work and I am wondering if starting a signing agent business on the side could be a conflict of interest. I paid for my own notary commission and supplies. Would I have to refuse signings if the customer is a client or adverse party of my law firm? Would it be advisable to tell my employer of my plans to start a signing agent business?

My $.02 FWIW

1. No, I donā€™t believe it would be a conflict of interest

2. Yes, I would tell my employer just out of respect but would agree to not harvest clients from them. (I, too, was a paralegal and I did tell my bosses. I also did not conduct any NSA business in the office on office time)

3. If the signer is an adverse party of your firm ā€¦ Well, this is just me. If I have that knowledge in advance, I would refer them to another notary.

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

You always give sound and reasonable adviceā€¦ I agree with everything you said :100: %

Iā€™d definitely ask the employer. I suspect the firm would view their field of work as ā€œlawā€ and anything in that field would be off-limits. So you might get away with notarizing a permission slip for an international school field trip, but Iā€™d be surprised if the firm would go along with any of the stuff that signing agents usually get appointments for.

Doesnā€™t your firm use mobile notaries? Why canā€™t it be you. Show them VALUE !

GREAT question to pose to attorneys at your firm as they would be able to give you the legal advice you are seeking.:+1:

How would you get the information to tell if a customer is an adverse party or a client of the firm? Do you ask for their name before accepting an assignment? How would you perform a conflict check using the database of clients at the firm?

They use me as an in-house notary for free.