Keep Signing up with services?

Hello!

I am a brand new signing agent. I completed everything through NNA, but only discovered once I went to sign up for snapdocs that since I live in IN, there is a whole other certification I need to get (Title Producers License). There are only a couple of states that require it. I am signed up with several of the notary databases, but had completed info with a few signing services. too Should I email these signing services and tell them I don’t have the license yet? (I signed up for an in person class next week, so I should fix the situation fairly quickly. ) Just wondering? I’d hate to get started off on the wrong foot fresh out of the gate.

1 Like

I am in Maryland so we need a TIP as well. As far as I know (from MD law) you CANNOT legally handle the closing of a home without a TIP. What you absolutely need this for is the Deed of Trust/Mortgages paperwork. I do not know how they didn’t ask for your TIP license or license number or even spot it was not present on those documents. I am not a lawyer but I would definitely seek the advice of one because it may mean their DOT and mortgage document has to be resigned with a TIP licensed signing agent. Consult your state laws on this though we all make mistakes hopefully they understand. Best of luck.

1 Like

Until you get your TIP and whatever bond your state needs with that I would not handle any more signings.

1 Like

@vanzornink Welcome to the Notary Cafe forum!

Yes, as a professional, you should.

You’ll also want to perform some additional research regarding the difficulty level of completing the Title Producer License [TPL] training, examination, certification, fees, etc. BEFORE you reach out to the companies you’ve already signed up for . . .

The reason you’ll want to perform the research prior to reaching out is that you need to assemble a realistic date that you’re anticipating to have all the requirements completed.

======