Mortgage Co and Title Company asking for my Dl's and Mortgage Co wanting NB personal info

Part 1 - So I am confused. I have been a signing agent for decades. All of a sudden, I have a TC in PA telling me that due to their new compliance rules that I must provide them with a copy of my DL. All the information appears on my background which has been provided to them. They also advised me that Mortgage Companies are requiring a copy of my DL in order to fund their loans. Backup, I am a Notary not a Borrower. Can someone please tell me what is going on? I feel that if I give any of them a copy of my DL that would open me up to identity theft.
Part 2 - I have TC’s telling me that a Patriot Act has to be completed for non-borrowers and that I need to complete the non-borrowers date of birth and SS#. First of all, they are a non-borrower and are not signing the Note, therefore, they cannot be held responsible for repayment of the loan. Providing a SS# on the Patriot Act would be a violation of the Privacy Act and I could be held liable

1 Like

As to Pat Act completion for non-borrower
who generally signs the Mortgage–a recorded doc that YOU notarize–and so must ID non-borrower/signer
makes sense. Why they think they need a copy of your DL is beyond me and I would politely refuse unless/until they provide me with a link to said law/code that states ‘notary must provide their ID’. Which I’m sure they can’t do. Think I’d also ask for same cite on non-B’s SS #.

2 Likes

@mobilenotaryinohio :100: percent CONCUR with Arichter, her insights within her post, & guidance regarding the Steps to take.

:swan:

I have seen companies from east coast requesting my drivers license. I write a short note this information already provided during annual background check. Haven’t heard a complaint so far.

4 Likes