Mortgage Layoffs, Closing Slowing Down

As my NSA business is slowing down. I am searching in Google about the Mortgage Industry news.

I found a title " A long List of Mortgage Layoffs, Mergers, and Closures".
Basically it is a very long list of the layoffs happening as I write this in 2022.

Banks such as Mr. Cooper, Wells Fargo, Rocket Mortgage, USAA Bank and many more banks are laying off employees on their mortgage department.

If the banks are not handling as many mortgages, therefore there are less requests for closing services ( that we NSA provide).

At least temporarily, there are going to be less closings available to work on. But this could also mean that could be a shifting on the kind of request we will see. Are we going to see more REO, HELOC, Reverse Mortgages closings? Or what is next for us NSA?

I have been providing Notary services since 2009. Fortunately, this is not my only source of household income. I think I can weather the storm, sort of speak. But I get a bit impatient with the slow down.
I like to be out there working and visiting the clients.

Hope you are doing well and you have figure things out.

2 Likes

That is why having multiple sources of income is important. Those who are sitting back and waiting for the phone to ring or the app to ding will leave themselves open to disappointment.

4 Likes

The last 2 years were hyper-busy because of interest rates. We are now back to NORMAL. I have been in the mortgage industry since 1992, and there is always cyclicality. If LSAs got into this business expecting refis to continue forever, they are probably the same people who get the phone calls to send thousands of dollars across the world to bail out their imaginary grandchild who is sitting in prison.

1 Like

I heard Feds are coming out Wednesday with higher interest rates!!! It’s going to get worse;(

1 Like