My Fees are Posted but Disregarded

Hi, I’m South of Seattle, in Washington State. I am not a new notary, but I am new to signing orders and travel expenses. I have joined several forums and have posted my fee schedule which includes how much I charge for each notary, travel and expenses. What are your thoughts about bridge tolls, ferry fees, and parking? If you charge mileage, does that include nautical miles (ferry fee is $20). Do you include that fee in your package, or use it as a tax deduction? Also, I was recently asked to do a signing for $75 that included over 126 miles in travel. From my zip code, they wanted me to travel 27 miles in one direction for the signing, and then pass by my zip code and “drop off” 36 miles in the other direction. That same company later asked me to do a signing in my zip code, and then drive 36 miles to “drop it off.” I was prepared for all the send backs, but I had not heard of “drop off.” Is this a new thing? Do you negotiate your fees? Would you have done it?

2 Likes

In a word: Nope. Paper, toner, drivetime, car expense (NOT just gas), tolls, parking are all cost factors & should receive a fee that pays these and provides a profit. Oh, and $75 even across the street isn’t enougfh.

4 Likes

Are they wanting you to “drop off” at their office or is that how far UPS/Fedex drop location is.

Since there are several UPS/FedEx branches and drop locations in between, I interpreted “drop off at their office.”

1 Like