Notary Signing Companies In Maryland

Hello,

I’m a Signing Agent in Maryland and found it difficult to get any assignments in Maryland. I’m with Notary Cafe and Notary Dash, but still no orders. Any suggestion would be helpful.

Your market is nationwide, but as Maryland is an attorney-only state–unless you’re an attorney, you have a problem for Loan docs…which is a very slow market now anyway.

1 Like

@inkwellnotarypros do you have your TPL? That’s required in MD, I believe. If not, that could be the problem in getting loan work

1 Like

thank you for sharing this information

Hello Linda,

Thanks for sharing this information. Just so, that I’m clear, what does TPL mean

Title Producers License. But please do check this very carefully as I still think it 's real hard to do loan signings in MD without some attorney involvement. And, now that Linda mentioned it, yeah, TPL is required, TOO. I really think it’s because MD lawyers are overly zealous (read: greedy). 'Nuf said.

Thank you both for this information.

This is interesting because I just got an offer from a MD based signing service for a property being sold in MD, but the owners are, presently in Florida (a “Seller’s Only” pkg). The Service is TP Settlement Services LLC. Maybe this is why it’s being done in FL so to avoid the TPL issue. I’ll have to check the docs carefully and ensure the certifications are all FL based and not MD based or subject to MD laws.

I checked with the NNA hotline last night. Apparently, since the Notarizations are being conducted in Florida, I don’t need a TPL. A family is selling thier home in MD. Their son (and DIL) live in FL. Mom & Dad are presently in FL and will conduct the closing here. So, I have to ensure the closing package reflects the Mother and Father as the signers and not Son/DIL. Also, the “pre-printed” Notary Certs in the package should be “Florida” certs with Florida Language… Not MD certs. I’ll have to review that, once I get the pkg.