Regarding getting signing order the same day

Hello members! I am a newly commissioned California Notary Public and a loan signing agent. I have signed up for couple of signing agencies and they send signing orders the same day with no reaction time. And usually the signings happen late in the evening, which does not work for me. Why don’t signing companies give at least 1-2 days notice for us to prepare and plan. Is there a solution to this? Thanks.

Greetings! I’m also relatively new to the Notary Signing Agent role, though I bring with me a robust 15-year background in real estate as a Realtor.

While it’s preferable for lenders to have loan documents prepared 1-2 days ahead of time, that’s not always the case. There are various reasons why lenders may need to rush documents to escrow and us notaries, all in an effort to ensure timely loan funding and the successful closure of the transaction as outlined in the original real estate contracts.

I’ve encountered situations where, as a buyer’s agent/Realtor, the only way to secure funding and successfully close escrow on time was by arranging for a notary to visit the buyer as early as 6 AM, followed by personally delivering the documents to escrow immediately after the signing. Typically, returning the loan documents to escrow before noon allows for same-day funding, with the property being recorded the following day to officially close the transaction.

While not every signing follows this tight timeline, depending on the lender, there are occasions when things truly come down to the wire. This applies to California as I’m not sure how it works for other states. I’m guessing it’s pretty similiar, however.