RON Platforms/Is it Worth It?

Any tips on starting RON? What is the best platform to use. I just recently requested certification in Oklahoma

I recently started up again in North Carolina after covid shut me down in Florida. I was told by the Sec of State, here in NC that they were not even sure if they were going to continue RON after Dec 31, 2021 and I have heard nothing yet. The Notary puts up a lot of their own money to set this up and I have not even received any requests - we need special laptops, cameras and software that has a monthly fee and personally I feel that there is too much chance of fraud for me, but if you want to – Good Luck! Oklahoma might be different.

Thank you for your insight! I have actually had some request, which is one reason i decided to get approved by the state. It looks like Oklahoma is in for the long haul in regards to RON so we shall see:)

I have been doing RON since April, 2020. Up until the loan rates were raised recently, it has been a very good step for me to switch from being a mobile notary to fully RON. There are a number of platforms for doing RON and you would want to choose them based on the direction you want to go with your business. If you want to do contract work as a RON, there are companies like NotaryCam and Notarize. They will train you to handle the notarizations coming to them from the general public and their own clients. The fees they pay are low in comparison to what you cam make on your own but the trade-off is that you are doing volume work. Plus, your costs for doing the notary work are almost zero. It’s mainly the start up costs to become a RON.