Start Signing Service

Hello everyone,

I am a notary signing agent and am thinking of starting my own signing service.

Any thoughts on previous experience with this would be great? How to’s and Do’s and Dont’s?

Also, what are some things that notaries would want to see from a signing service? Error Rate? If your a preferred notary? How to become a preferred notary?etc

Right out the gate - do you have

1. Title company connections that will provide you a steady stream of closings?

2. Capital - your notaries should not have to wait for you to be paid to get their fee - so you’ll need sufficient capital to float your company while keeping your notaries happy or, quite simply, you won’t have any notaries willing to work with you. Also, you’ll need to have enough to float you through the drier times.

3. Can you guarantee your notaries payment within 30 days (and uphold that guarantee)? For reasons, see #2.

4. How long have you been a notary and notary signing agent? Notaries will be referring back to you from the table for answers to their questions - and you need to be spot on with your advice and guidance.

In all honesty, there are enough fly-by-night signing services popping up every day and most notaries are tired of them. Direct work is preferred…unless you can pay really really well - not $85/signing>

Think hard on this

5 Likes

Thank you for the reply.

I appreciate your input!

I do have a lot of those things. The biggest hurdle I face is getting the title companies business. Mainly because I just moved to a new city so networking with these title companies is going to be new.

I definitely have capital. Have set aside about $30k for notaries. I want to be a different signing service and pay the right way. I would love to pay notaries a lump sum by direct deposit. I feel like that is a more efficient way. That way notaries have some predictability!

3 Likes