The Real Truth about Notary Signing Agents

(AZ) Source of this article: The Real Truth about Notary Signing Agents

I guess the best way to start this article is to let you know that this is not an easy “get rich quick” trade, as it has sometimes been portrayed. I’ve been doing this for several years now, and I consider myself to be fairly successful. However, I have yet to hit the six figure a year mark from working as a notary signing agent.

In the past, different organizations have conducted marketing campaigns to promote training for those interested in entering the very lucrative field of notary signing agents. The campaigns promise earnings of thousands of dollars. Many notaries have jumped on the signing agent bandwagon, quitting their full time jobs to pursue the dream of becoming an independent contractor in this field.

Let me share some of the information that is never advertised. First, many of the notary signing agent assignments are handled by “signing companies/services.” Theses signing companies act as a “middle man” between the notary signing agent and the title company. The signing company is the one who actually negotiates a price with the title company and then farms the work out to the notary signing agent at a lower. For this reduced fee, the notary signing agent is expected to print two sets of closing documents (average 160 pages per set), travel to the borrower’s home, make sure all documents are properly signed and notarized, and on many occasions, fax the entire set of completed documents back to the signing company, and then wait for them to review them and provide permission to take the documents to FedEx or UPS to send back to the title company. How long does all of this take? At the least, about three hours.