Time to keep payments records/journal book

I’m In Florida State, and I have been doing closings as a signing agent for 7 years aprox. I have been asking NNA the question about how long I need to keep information about title companies payments and Journals books for closing done. Nobody can answer this question.
Does anybody know?

Journals…forever…or until you retire. Then you turn 'em over to the Clerk of Courts (title may vary by state) in your county of commission…and get a receipt. No clue what they do with 'em, but it’s no longer your problem. ‘Issues’ about notarizations can come up decades after the fact!
Payment records are ‘proof of income’ for tax purposes. No set time for this, but most ‘experts’ (of which I’m not one)…recommend at least 3 years. I’d say ‘lots longer’. An attorney acquaintance says ‘until you die’.

1 Like

Hi, I imagine that journals are forever, even though those properties must probably be sold already. I have been keeping orders with CK payment for those years. wow, boxes and more boxes. I think for income purposes already filed tax returns may be 4 yours are enough, I will ask my account, the thing that this profession as a signing agent, may be different.
Thank you Aritchter
I bit crazy right?

My husband laughs at me. I am that person that does not throw things away. I have tax documents going back to my first tax filing. Yes… I am that person, however my tax person told me he keeps his personal records for 10 years.

1 Like

I have my tax returns copies kept for 40 years!! including expenses. I’m thinking start shedding them. getting tired. Plus notary journals, and orders title companies’ copies. Insane.

1 Like

This Tax Pro makes the following recommendations as to record retention.

Federal and State Returns