Timesavers

I’m a newbee notary signing agent but have over 40 years experience in internal auditing in the banking industry. My company was independent so I had competition and I had to learn to move fast. Just like I’m learning as a notary. Believe me, I’m far from knowing it all and the ideas I’ve offered below may have appeared somewhere on this forum before, but I’ll list some tricks I’ve developed. I hope they prove useful to you.

1. I ordered rubber stamps for completing my journal entries: changeable date stamp, Errors & Omissions, Compliance Agreement, Power of Attorney/Correction Agreement, Signature Affidavit, Acknowledgement, Jurat, Deed of Trust, Trust Certificate, my name/Notary Public, and, California Driver’s License. I simply rubber stamp the appropriate stamp in my journal so I don’t have to write it all out. Saves a TON of time. The stamps I ordered come from rubberstampwarehouse.com and they run about $6-8 bucks each. I recommend using different color grips (you’ll see when you order).
  2. I use signing boards which are smooth and large (like placemat-size) so I don’t have inconsistent surfaces to contend with. They are flat and light and fit right in my briefcase. Borrowers are always impressed.
  3. I use the smoothest writing pen I can find because, believe it or not, it is less wear and tear on my hand when completing my journal. I had 29 notarizations on a single signing recently and the pen was terrific and I was not fatigued. I use cheap pens for my borrowers/signers but MY pen is glorious and smooooooth. Invest in an excellent mid-to-broad tip pen - you won’t be sorry.
  4. Carry a magnifying glass.
  5. Carry fingertip moistener like SortKWIK. Indispensible!
    Good luck to you, my colleagues. And, save some signings for ME!
6 Likes