Training & Equipment Options?

Hey all!
I’m a Florida resident, after 10 years in the medical field & 12 years in law enforcement prior to that, I’ve decided to walk away from the medical field and pursue starting my own notary business. I’ve got a general idea what needs to be done, and will be starting an LLC, but would much appreciate recommendations on training, both notary and RON.
I’ll be investing in a dedicated computer and printer, and would also appreciate advise on maybe a particular laptop & printer. I do know go with at least a two tray printer.

Any insight or advice would be so much appreciated!

1 Like

I would definitely invest in a brother dual tray printer. Costs around 2-300 but so worth it. I would also recommend purchasing a Epson 500W scanner. Alot of business that I handle deals with scanbacks so this scanner is powerful enough to handle small and large documents. Lastly, I would recommend going with a Dell or HP laptop with an extended warranty. Hope this little bit helps. Best of luck to you.

2 Likes

Thank you so much Stacey for your insight! I didn’t think about a scanner but realize it’s a must have.

I am an IT consultant and a notary. I invested in the printer in the below link. also added two 520 page trays and a $40 table from amazon. That is what you need for a serious notary business. You may need more printers if you get more business. Toner is very cheap on Amazon. Paper is the cheapest on Staples website. All other stationary is from Amazon. Invest in a good mobile phone, like iphone with good reception in your area. Also you need a good car to go around for closings. Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Thank you so much! Toner is a major expense, and didn’t think to check it on Amazon. I do already have an iphone, and a good car. Training is the next major hurdle.