Unintended consequences

As the traffic on this site has increased, I have been lured into responding to some issues and reading other topics with interest. I have been very deliberate about not using the term “newbie”, especially as it is used derogatorily, and accusatorily. I was a newbie at one time, as was everyone else in this business. But, allow me to share a recent exchange with you.
I was called for a signing by one of the agencies I have worked with for several years, but the signing was to occur in less than an hour. I informed them that I was not available, but also took the opportunity to inform them that there had been a precipitous drop in the number of signings I did for them just a year ago to now. Last year I did over 300 signings just for their company, whereas to date I have done fewer than 50. The agent took the time to review my profile to try to find out and explain the change. I was then told that it was because of my fees. I was informed that they were able to get notaries to sign for helocs or hybrid signings for $65 and full refis for $85. I informed them that that was half the rate they were paying me when I first started signing with them. I was then told, “things have changed”, where upon I was invited to lower my fees and they would guarantee me more assignments as I was one of their highest rated performers. I politely declined because I continue to get assignments from them albeit at a slower pace than before. It is also the case that they have no problem using me and paying me at the higher rate when it is for last minute, hard to fill locations, or clean up of another signing that has gone wrong.