Vellum Pen Requirement?

Has anybody been requested to notarize some plats that require the signing to be done with a Vellum Pen?

I’ve never had anyone give me a requirement to use a “vellum pen” and I’ve never had to notarize on vellum, nor have I had to notarize a plat.

I am an electronics engineer, and I have had the computer plotters I was using create plots on regular paper, tracing paper, and Mylar (a brand name of polyester). Survey plats are made with the same kind of computer plotters, on the same kinds of media.

Of course, regular paper is regular paper. Tracing paper can be a little hard to write on, and some kind of fine fiber-tipped pen may work better than a ball-point pen.

Ball-point pens are pretty much useless for writing on Mylar. I used to use Sharpies. I did a Google search and found this. It says it will write on overhead transparency film, and in my experience, pens that work well on overhead transparency film also work well on Mylar. If you can’t wait, try the section at Staples that has the specialty paper and drawing triangles.

By the way, a normal notary stamp won’t work on Mylar. The Florida Department of State has a web page on some less-than-ideal ways to deal with this.

1 Like

Another idea about the stamp: find out if the plat is on Mylar. Find out if the land surveyor will be present for the signing. If so, ask the surveyor can bring a stamp pad that works on mylar. Then go to a local stationery store that can make a notary stamp quick, and get a plain old rubber stamp like from 50 years ago. Use the plain stamp with the surveyor’s ink pad. Charge for all the extra work and expense.

2 Likes

Thank you so much @ashton!

That was very helpful.
I have completed the notarization and you are correct it was Mylar plats that contained the survey/engineering plans to several properties.