Why in 2023 is anyone still using signing Services?

Since 2015 I have been a signing agent and I have seen our market swing radically in every direction. The greatest threat to our way of life has been the signing services. What value do they bring to a signing agent regardless of seniority or experience? Working directly with title companies is productive and profitable. Someone, please explain to me why you would take a job that offers you $50 in payment and demands scanbacks, call confirmation, and a list of items that if you fail just one of them they will cut your pay. Oh, and by the way they are making up to $500 on that same job. Please, explain this to me.

3 Likes

Great question. I think most people utilize signing services to gain experience as notary signing agents. Establishing a direct relationship with title and escrow companies takes time. Outside of signing services or getting direct work from title companies, what other options do notary signing agents have to get steady work?

3 Likes

Personally, I use them to gain experience. I have spoken to several local Title Companies and they’ve all said the same thing, minimum of 1 year experience before they will use you. So until that point, what do you suggest? I am going to use the signing services. With there a heavily saturated market with Notaries, we do what we must.

2 Likes