Withdrawing after initial assignment

I’ve been doing mobile notary work and loan closings for about 15 years or so. In that time there have been a handful of situations where something about the file or the signer(s) was setting off alarms in my head. Some of those times I proceeded anyway. And other times I withdrew from the assignment. I think in almost every case where I proceeded anyway against my better judgement, I later regretted my failure to withdraw.

I’d like to know the thoughts of others on here about withdrawing from an assignment when you’re uncomfortable and whether you withdraw occasionally.

I guess I’d also like responses from any notary location services on here as to how you feel about a notary withdrawing after they’ve been assigned.

3 Likes

A lot, I think, depends on how far along you are in the process. If you are already at the location with the signer present and breathing down your neck, it might be a bit problematic to withdraw, unless you had a bonafide “for cause” situation. Hopefully, you’ll have had a chance to print and review docs and ask questions before you go to the location for the appt.

It’s also why I’m preferring to do RON over Mobile notary work these days. And why, if the signer wants to come to my physical location, I’ll set the appointment, but I’ll ask them for a copy of the docs beforehand. I then confirm the signing after reviewing them.

So far, so good. There was only one case where I had to decline a signing and, thankfully, it was a RON signing where I could just terminate the session and the signer and I never cross paths thereafter. In that case, the document was filled to the brim with blank spaces. I didn’t feel comfortable notarizing it.

Anytime prior to the appt. date and time, I will withdraw if it’s a JDFR scenario. No one wants to withdraw, because we all want to make money, especially in this environment. But if ya gotta, ya gotta.