1st transaction deal

Hi There,

Today I received a text message from someone saying they needed documents notarized but that it’s not for a real estate transaction but for their mother’s probate and title. I did not get a notification via notary café.com only a personal text message. Is this legit? Since this is my first transaction, I’m uncertain. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Randi

I would be very very careful. Too many frauds:(

1 Like

So how can you tell if it is not a fraud?

Text the person back…tell them to call to discuss. Payment is standard fee for GNW work plus travel and time, they supply all docs and witnesses as required, and you are paid at the table

Definitely would ask them to please call to discuss

2 Likes

They asked my fee and I told them and they said they would have 3 signers

I’m not an expert so to be safe, I don’t just take orders from random request, I will only take orders from known titles and lenders. I’m scared.

I called and spoke to the guy and it sounds legit

1 Like

If your profile is ‘visible to all’, this is probably a request from a member of the public and not from a signing service. I’d do as Linda suggested. TALK to them. Hope you’ve done your homework and know what’s allowed for travel in your state and the fee you’re allowed/notarization. If the $ works for you—get your feet wet.

3 Likes

I called the guy and he sounds legitimate I told him my flat rate is 150 and he said OK he’d pay cash

1 Like

Also since he told me that he got my contact info through notary Café I thought on my desktop through notary Café it would say 1 new active signing ??

No, as it’s GNW for a member of the public and NOT thru a TC or SS. This is a Directory, too. Anyone can find you if you’ve made your profile
visible to all’–which, apparently you have done.

1 Like

Definitely looks like they just used the “find a notary” feature, viewed your profile and contacted you directly. Go get it girl!

2 Likes