Has anyone ever heard of a loan closing performed and the borrowers house by a lawyer and with out a Notary

I am a new signing agent and I had my own loan refinancing done last friday. The man gave me a card which stated he was a lawyer and was contracted to do the signing. He had the documents and he mentioned he had preformed two signing before me and had two to perform after he completed my signing. The thing that was strange to me is that none of the documents I sign did he notarize. It made me nervous. During my trainging I never heard that a lawyer could do a signing without a Notary present. Does anyone have a comment on this. I am very nervous.

1 Like

Where are you located?

Welcome to Notary Cafe!

In Florida, as well as other states, an Attorney can act as a Notary Public and Notarize documents. So, on the notarial certificate, instead of “{name}, Notary Public” you might see, “{name}, Attorney at law” etc. When I closed on my first house, the Atty doing my case (an attorney is necessary in NJ), Notarized most of the doc package. But I went to the seller’s office anyway and singed the remainder of the docs, personally, even though my lawyer offered to do it for me by proxy

There are others in FL who can do notarial acts as well. (LEOs in some cases).

I never heard of this. I know about LEOs but not attorneys. I asked about OP’s location because I know CT attorneys can sign as Commissioner of the Superior Court

In FL, they are called “Civil-Law Notaries.” See p. 5 of the NNA Florida Notary Primer. Or see FS 118.10

1 Like

So again, back to the OP - Mr. Mondoon, where are you located?

In many, but not all states, attorneys are automatically given the right to notarize. Or they can be both an attorney AND a commissioned notary. There are quite a few lawyers that also are ‘signing agents’. And, while doing it ‘right’ does mean that the notary should complete the notarization immediately after you sign a document, in reality, some complete it later.