I am confused with this explanation from the title company

image*

In my opinion this is one of the easiest forms to fill out. I had a long conversation with a title company today who shared with me that this form along with the 1003 is one of the forms that are being filled out incorrectly. They felt the need to send out an email which was confusing at first but they retracted the information given.

Agents are not reading the amount of ID required (1 or 2) and they are putting the borrowers birthdate instead of the ID expiration date.

1 Like

Hi

I’m so glad you wrote about this. I got the same email and wrote them that that I was uncomfortable with these instructions and and that I thought they was incorrect. I feel if we followed this advice, it would be rejected by the lenders and have to be corrected with a possible reduction in fees. I have been a signing agent for 11 years, and this seems very strange to me.

I spoke to the NNA, and they agreed with me. They also advised me where their USA Patriot Act Identification of Borrowers had a section for “Expiration” and “Birth Date”, and I forwarded their (the NNA) form to the appropriate people. But this is very hard to understand.

I hope this is cleared up. I’m sure they must’ve been bombarded with emails regarding this.

Karen

2 Likes

Eek! Eek! Wrong instructon

Email cane from who! What is the name of the co? That person who sent you this instruction should go find another job!

3 Likes

Interesting; but what if the expiration date is different than the D.O.B.? Example; my DL expires on my birthday, as do our car registrations; however, my CCP has a different expiration date and would be an acceptable form of ID as it contains all the elements required (name, address, picture, signature, etc etc).

I agree with the above poster; someone goofed; but, you know what? You can only do what you are told, so keep this e-mail and if anything gets thrown back at you, you can show them these specific instructions.