Last Minute Signing Requests

I am a retired mortgage loan officer; I am fairly new at being a mobile notary. My question is; Are ALL loan signing requests last minute??? They all seem to be “tonight, or tomorrow morning”. And when do they expect me to print the package? Ciao!

Mostly, 1 or 2 days before. A rare few have their act together enough that you might get a week’s warning. The really last minute ones (ASAP, 2-3 hours) are usually PROBLEMS (the docs aren’t ready & it’s past the Appt. time & the original notary bailed…which leaves you to hold the bag). Welcome to our world~~

4 Likes

Thank you, and I just got one for tonight!!! $75 about 25 miles from me. I called to counter the fee and the job had been taken. ARGGGGGG.

1 Like

Make that a 50 mile trip. Starting at $1 p/mi, ($50), plus time and services rensered, be thankful someone else took the loss. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Inundated all last week, every day multiple last minute from different companies for different closings. The worst part is LOWBALL fees! Hey, If you have a last minute signing, you’re supposed to offer more not less! LOL!! I just laugh and delete!!

6 Likes

Not all but I had a Last minute one Monday it threw my whole day off being I had to Travel 35 mins and they sent the 91 page packet 1 hour before barley finished printing the 2nd set normally I do an extra copy for errors but didnt even have Time on top of that 30 day wait for payout!

Since First American Direct went onto Snapdocs, it seems as if 2 out of 3 orders are same day. Uh… folks, we cannot print 300 pages (2 copies of a refi package) and drive 30 miles through rush hour traffic in 2 hours. Oh, wait! Let me just pull my blue leotard and red cape out of the laundry…

9 Likes

Honestly, though, for those ridiculously short notice orders I assume the time is simply wishful thinking and confirm reality when I call the borrower.

3 Likes

I had a several last time orders. It could be for different reasons.