TC/SS Greed

It is just frustrating how easily and suddenly these people could dumb you whenever they find “cheap” signing agents.
I used to do signings for two major TC for years with a zero error profile. Suddenly, My signing offers from both went down to zero. I got the same response when I called each " We’re sorry, but your fee rate appears to be above the set average for your area".
These TC are different, they are not related at all but this seems to be a general trend that has started as cheap newbs saturated the market and the accept any fee 30, 40, … I wish they realize that this way they’re hurting us and themselves financially… I believe the signing agent job is dying and seeking a more stable source of income has become necessary.

7 Likes

Can’t disagree…it is a trend.

Yep. My 1099 for 2020 for one of these title companies for last year was $43,000 alone. I had been working with them for the past 5 years and my fees were never a problem. Now they only call me once in a while, likely if they can’t find someone for $80. Sorry, not reducing my fees because new people are doing it cheaper. Also I’m sure the inexperienced ones are also causing tons of requests for scan backs for RTC Refis which is a waste of my time. I add $25 if they want scans and sometimes counter-offer them a price with and without scans.

7 Likes

I believe the signing agent job is dying

I’m very underwhelmed. Even after getting busier, I’m still not seeing the potential I read about beforehand. We’ll see.

3 Likes

I made more as a signing agent per signing back in 2012 then I do now. I looked back at my records and very rarely did I have anything under $100. Most of my signings were $125-175.
I stopped doing signings for a while and came back and I am shocked at the fees I am offered now. Who is taking these $60 and $70 signings???

5 Likes

Inflation Calculator

This calculator helps determine the buying power of a dollar over time in the United States