Notaries, you are more important than you think

Notaries, you are more important than you think.

I feel bad to see notaries are still doing loan closing so low. Just say no! :weary: Please stop it.

5 Likes

I am new to the business! Inquiring minds want to knowā€¦ One of the biggest complaints that I have seen is the price that is being paid to notaries for loan closings. I have not done a loan closing, however, isnā€™t the notary loan closing fee charged to the customer by the lender?

2 Likes

Normally, notary service fee is paid by customer but some title companies donā€™t charge their client notary service fee as a courtesy but Iā€™m sure they make their money over charging on other items.

2 Likes

My personal opinion - We were getting paid decent fees until COVID hit and the new notaries showed up. The new notaries were taking any offer put out there and now the TI and SS are accustomed to the low ball fees. Where are those notaries now? No where to be found. So blame them. Either accept what is on the board or move on

1 Like

Donā€™t know if this is an anomaly or sign of the times, but I have only the 2nd Refi of the year from an SS Iā€™ve worked with randomly for years, but not in the last 2 1/2 years. The CALL began with ā€˜Are you still doing signingsā€¦ā€™ Yep, and got my norrmal/not cheap feeā€“no problem.
So maybe a lot of notaries have moved on to greener jobs and so SS has to pay a reasonable amount? If youā€™re a newbā€”take note. Donā€™t work for chump change.

6 Likes

I am very new. Only had mine for about 2 months and have not received even one signing yet.

@mi.tattooednotary

Please take a few minutes & review the following thread:

:swan:

3 Likes