Getting my first assignment

Hello, I am a newbie signing agent in the Houston, TX area and have been commissioned since early December. I am having trouble landing my first assignment (or more accurately I’m not getting any signing notifications) and I am becoming a bit discouraged. Is the market over saturated? Is there even any room to get my foot in the door?

I feel like I have taken all the right steps as far as signing up with signing services daily and I am not seeing any results. So far I have signed up with over 50 signing services and directories. I have all my supplies, printer, laptop, even a rolling briefcase :sob:, but I have not been able to put any of it to use.

Is there any advice anyone can give me about landing my first signing in a metropolitan area? I’m trying my best to not get discouraged but I feel like I am at a loss right now. Thank you in advance.

3 Likes

Being in a metropolitan area large as Houston means you’ve entered territorial grounds. Saturated is not the word. You basically have to wait until every single experienced notary rejects an offer for whatever reason(it happens). Than you would have to get low balled for that signing. It’s a numbers game, you do whatever it takes to get your numbers up. Or you can increase your travel range and take some rural area signings. I’m in a smaller city surrounded by rural area so I hit the ground running with no issue. I was suppose to move back home to Dallas this year but the pandemic prevented me and it was a blessing in disguise. That’s the price we pay for living the big city life is competition is a square foot away. Don’t be discouraged, find a way to get your feet wet, I highly suggest make yourself available for signings no one wants which is probably far outside the city limits. Blessings!

2 Likes