I am a Newbie...How come I don't get assignments?

I keep seeing new notaries get assignments and some even are able to negotiate their fees very early in the process. How come I can’t get a hit? What am I doing wrong?

I have signed up with over 50 signing companies and all of the major directories. Someone please help!

2 Likes

I’m a new notary just got started in September. Here is what I’ve figured out so far. You have to be patient! Ultimately you are waiting for someone to drop the ball so you can get your foot in. When you do make it count and do good work. These companies will try to low ball you if you are new I turned down my first 6 signings because the fees were too low. If I go within 10 miles of my home I charge $100. They can take it or leave it but I don’t go out for less. I am not churning out signings but I am getting some. They are good quality and I’m not wasting my time. Also I’m only signed up with a few companies and I will eliminate them if they are not productive. Hope this helped.

7 Likes

Hey Edward,

Thanks for the feedback!

A lot of this business is location, Maurice - where are you located? Also, keep signing up with companies - when I first started in this business I made a goal of signing up with at least 5 new companies per day - no I didn’t get signings from all of them but I got my name out there.

Again, it’s all about location - and marketing. Training and experience also play a major part in companies looking at your profile and saying “yes, lets call him”.

Good luck

4 Likes

Hi Maurice,